Sponsored Content
Operating Systems AIX Question about HACMP for active-active mode Post 302365449 by qiulang on Tuesday 27th of October 2009 06:10:08 AM
Old 10-27-2009
Question about HACMP for active-active mode

Hi all,

I am new to HACMP. So sorry for the newie question. But I did search the forum and it seems that no one asks this before.

So if a 2-node cluster runs in active-active mode (and the same application), what is the benefit of using HACMP ?

If it runs in active-stanby, it is easy to understand because you need HACMP to do failover; but for active-active mode, no failover (right ?), then why do we need HACMP ?

Besides, I find HACMP documents do not use the term "active-active" or "active-standby" (cold standby or hot standby) often. So does "concurrent resource group" mean "active-active" and "cascading/rotating resource group" mean "active-standby" ? Is there a cold standby ?

And what is the relation between "concurrent resource group" and "concurrent shared disk access"; what's the relation between "Cascading/Rotating resource group" and "non-concurrent shared disk access" ?

Thanks!

Last edited by qiulang; 10-27-2009 at 09:18 AM..

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Active / Non Active users ?

Hey, I have few Questions : 1. How to Check/Find who all are the users accessing the server using their id ? 2. How to Check who is the active user or non active user (whose id exists but the access privileges has been removed) ? I am presently using AIX5.3 as a server. Please suggest... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: varungupta
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

active working

hi! i want to create a list of the active working of the system classified by size and run the list on the monitor in a contolled pattern.Every active work has to appear only once. Any suggestions? also how can i create a list of the active working that does not belong to the user root?thanks (5 Replies)