Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Moving files between directories using SFTP Post 302364688 by cjhancock on Friday 23rd of October 2009 04:23:49 PM
Old 10-23-2009
Thanks for replying, vgersh99.

When I tried that (on solaris) it didn't seem to want to let me move files between directories, only rename files in the same directory. But I may have just messed up... I'll try it again when I'm back in work.

Thanks silentbizob - I'll investigate ssh as an alternative (I only found out that ssh existed today!)

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving directories to new directories on multiple servers

Hi - I am new to unix scripts...I need to move several directories on multiple servers to new directories. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: mackdaddy07
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash and Awk for creating directories and moving files

I have a security system that FTPs the camera files to my machine, however I want to sort the pictures (taken every 30s) into directories by hour. Every picture uses the following file format. yymmddhhmmsstt.jpg (where tt is the milliseconds) I am thinking the for loop is best for file... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kiint
11 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Moving files out of multiple directories and renaming them in numerical order

Hi, I have 500 directories each with multiple data files inside them. The names are sort of random. For example, one directory has files named e_1.dat, e_5.dat, e_8.dat, etc. I need to move the files to a single directory and rename them all in numerical order, from 1.dat to 1000(or some... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: renthead720
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

moving files between directories !!