Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Need tips on file manipulation Post 302364472 by Scott on Friday 23rd of October 2009 07:34:04 AM
Old 10-23-2009
Hi.

Could you please post a sample of data that reflects your requirement?

Otherwise, this makes assumptions:
Code:
awk '/^[0-9]{8}/ FS { print > FILENAME "_invoice_" $1}' input_file

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

File manipulation

I'm new to Unix and want to know if this type of file processing is feasible. I have a master file downloaded on Sundays. From Monday to Saturday a file containing changes and adds and a file containing deletes are downloaded. I'd like to apply the mon-sat files to the master file so that I do not... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ssp7423
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

File manipulation

To all Guru I have a file like test.txt 111,122,212,123 data11,date12, data13, data14...data1n data21,date22, data23, data24...data2n data31,date32, data33, data34...data3n ... ... .. datan1,daten2, datan3, datan4...datann END I have to load this data into oracle , where first... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: u263066
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

file manipulation

Hi, I have a file with 3 lines like aaaabb abcdef wertyu now i want to insert a new character "Q" in the 3rd position of every line of the file.... I found a way to do it but i felt it is little complex. Do you guys have any ideas (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: siddu_chittari
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

File Manipulation

Hi, i have a file with fixed record length with the following content (only one sentence) 12345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890 12345678 87654321 hugo meyer friedhofpaul the numbers above are only the column-positions and not part of the file! Now i want... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: FranzB
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

File manipulation