Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers removing first 7 characters of directory names Post 302364008 by euspilapteryx on Wednesday 21st of October 2009 10:16:13 PM
Old 10-21-2009
Thanks, this is really useful!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace characters in all file names in a particular directory

Hi, I have searched the forum on how to mass replace the file names. We are doing the migration and I am trying to accomplish a task where I have to replace all UNIX scripts in a particular directory that start with bdw to fdm... For example: bdw0110137.sh should be fdm0110137.sh Keep the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: madhunk
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to display only Owner and directory/sub directory names under particular root

hai, I am new to Unix, I have a requirement to display owner name , directory or sub directory name, who's owner name is not equal to "oasitqtc". (here "oasitqtc" is the owner of the directory or sub directory.) i have a command (below) which will display all folders and sub folders, but i... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: gagan4599
6 Replies

3. Red Hat

tar: Removing leading `/' from member names

Hello, when i start to take backup following error generate please share solution for this problem i am very thankful to you. $ tar -czvf orahome.tar.gz /testhome/TEST/PROD/orahome/ tar: Removing leading `/' from member names O.S 4.5 Red Hat Thanks, Umair (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: umair
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Removing files with same text but different file names

Hi All, I have some 50,000 HTML files in a directory. The problem is; some HTML files are duplicate versions that is wget crawled them two times and gave them file names by appending 1, 2, 3 etc after each crawl. For example, if the file index.html has been crawled several times, it has been... (1 Reply)