Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers If FTP cron job fails to connect = quit Post 302362955 by mokachoka on Monday 19th of October 2009 03:09:46 AM
Old 10-19-2009
the actual scripts that are running are in my other thread in Shell programming and scripting. The operating system im using is Ubuntu, the FTP program i am using is lftp.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

ftp in cron job

I am writing a script that will be placed in a crontab, which basically retrieves a file that is overwritten everyday (with current customer data) and then sent to another company. I was wondering what the best way to ensure that ftp was successful and notification of a success or failure message.... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: walterja
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cron ftp job help

I am new to cron and am trying to set a cron job that will run everyday at 2 to go out to a server (via ftp with user name and password) and get a file and then bring it back to my sever. Below is what I have but it doesn't seem to be working. Any help would be appreciated. cron command - will... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: bernfuss
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Cron FTP job

We have a script that we run manually, we want to set it up so that it will run automatically via cron, the problem is during the ftp process nothing is put, the script logs in changes directory fine, but nothing is put to the directory. I have tried it as root, a power user, etc. I have made the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: marvin51796
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Cron job fails, but works fine from command line