Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Using AWK to separate data from a large XML file into multiple files Post 302362692 by jp2542a on Saturday 17th of October 2009 12:23:41 AM
Old 10-17-2009
It wasn't designed to be used as separate clauses.. put the whole thing in a file and use the -f switch.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

multiple smaller files from one large file

I have a file with a simple list of ids. 750,000 rows. I have to break it down into multiple 50,000 row files to submit in a batch process.. Is there an easy script I could write to accomplish this task? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rtroscianecki
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

handling multiple files using awk command and wants to get separate out file for each

hai all I am new to the world of shell scripting I wanted to extract two columns from multiple files say around 25 files and i wanted to get the separate outfile for each input file tired using the following command to extract two columns from 25 files awk... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: hema dhevi
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Using AWK: Extract data from multiple files and output to multiple new files

Hi, I'd like to process multiple files. For example: file1.txt file2.txt file3.txt Each file contains several lines of data. I want to extract a piece of data and output it to a new file. file1.txt ----> newfile1.txt file2.txt ----> newfile2.txt file3.txt ----> newfile3.txt Here is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Liverpaul09
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

awk to match multiple regex and create separate output files

Howdy Folks, I have a list that looks like this: (file2.txt) AAA BBB CCC DDD and there are 24 of these short words. I am matching these patterns to another file with 755795 lines (file1.txt). I have this code for matching: awk -v f2=file2.txt ' BEGIN { while(... (2 Replies)