Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Need specific byte positions of a file Post 302361339 by rmv on Tuesday 13th of October 2009 03:27:09 AM
Old 10-13-2009
Well , I am new to sed and awk
please let me know how I run this script ?

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read Write byte range/chunk of data from specific location in file

I am new to Unix so will really appreciate if someone can guide me on this. What I want to do is: Step1: Read binary file - pick first 2 bytes, convert from hex to decimal. Read the next 3 bytes as well. 2 bytes will specify the number of bytes 'n' that I want to read and write... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Kbenipel
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Search flat file in specific byte

I am on AIX Unix. I want to read a flat file for a string in a certain byte. I want to find the value: 943034 in column 56; and write out just those records to another file. Also, could I get the line/record number of where it was found in the input file? Thank you, sboxtops (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sboxtops
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

output strings to specific positions in a file

Been searching for about 3 hours for similar functionality that I can get examples of how to output text from variables into certain locations in a file. I would like to incorporate this into a script. I have not been able to find a command example that does it all in one method. I find part of... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: bennu_500
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Count specific characters at specific column positions

Hi all, I need help. I have an input text file (input.txt) like this: 21 GTGCAACACCGTCTTGAGAGG 50 21 GACCGAGACAGAATGAAAATC 73 21 CGGGTCTGTAGTAGCAAACGC 108 21 CGAAAAATGAACCCCTTTATC 220 21 CGTGATCCTGTTGAAGGGTCG 259 Now I need to count A/T/G/C numbers at each character location in column... (2 Replies)