Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Get Options and Parameters
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Get Options and Parameters Post 302360837 by KitFisto on Saturday 10th of October 2009 06:05:27 PM
Old 10-10-2009
Get Options and Parameters

Hi there.

Could someone explain how do i get the options separated from the arguments. My problem is that i have a lot of options and in all of those options i need to have the parameters available to use in that option and all the others. How can i take the arguments before i cycle throw the options?

Thanks in advance.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

cp options

Hello again, Is there an option for the cp command to overwrite existing files in the destination directory? Cheers Rob (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: milage
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

options

I am just beginning to learn unix and I was wondering if there was a list of all the options somewhere on the net or hidden in the man pages? Also do options always have - and then a letter, or can it be - and a number as well? Thanks! (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: terms5
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

getopts takes options for parameters

Here is my post with a question about getopts. I am running korn shell on Solaris 5.8. I am trying to ensure that certain options require a parameter, which is easy enough. I have found that if multiple options are entered on the command line together, but the parameter for one of the options is... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: UCD-Randy
1 Replies

4. Post Here to Contact Site Administrators and Moderators

Advt Options ?

Hi, I was wondering if you accept advertising on your site ? Regards, (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: systemali
1 Replies

5. AIX

no options