Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: moving dir subdir and files
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting moving dir subdir and files Post 302360202 by dr46014 on Thursday 8th of October 2009 10:09:08 AM
Old 10-08-2009
let me explain the exact requirement...

source : /data1/serial/mcycle/archive : under archive there are many directories and sub directories...but unfortunately archive dir is created in one user(say X) and rest are under other user(say Y).

Now we need to change the owner of archive to Y as X id will be removed.So i was thinking of taking a backup and moving files again...

Please suggest ..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Moving file(s) from dir to dir

Hi, I am fairly new to writing scripts. I am trying to write a script that moves either One or All of the files from one directory to another. I know how to make the actual command to do it, but i don't quite know how to add operators to it, ie -i or -a. I want -i to move one file from... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: SirJoeh
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace string in multiple files, dir and subdir

Hello, I have a directory www with multiple directories. Every directory has site name with .htm, .html, .php files or sub directories with .htm, .php, .html file as example - www - sitename 1 - site 1 - sitename 2 - sitename 3 What I'm looking for is a... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: andyjill
7 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Moving file from one dir to Another with Given Qualifier

Hi, I want to Move files from one dir to another dir on same mount point. The source dir may contain subdir or files within it. Search the files or subfolder which is older then a given datetime . Move the file recursively and after each successful move of file make an entry to log... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rkmbcbs
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perform action in dir if dir has .git subdir