Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: bash problem
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting bash problem Post 302359072 by talashil on Monday 5th of October 2009 06:23:11 PM
Old 10-05-2009
here is the content of oratab file.

Code:
+ASM1:/opt/oracle/product/11.1.0/racasm:N
abcd1:/opt/oracle/product/11.1.0/racdb:N
xyz1:/opt/oracle/product/11.1.0/racdb:N

all I am trying to do is get the path from the above.
Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash while loop problem

Hi, I'm having a problem with the while loop in bash. I try the following script: #!/bin/bash while true do echo "test" done When I try this, it gives me this error: while: Too few arguments. What am I doing wrong? Thanks (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Kweekwom
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash problem

Hello there, I'm a beginner in bash programining and I have a problem with the interpretetion of the code: sed -e "s/\(*\):.*/\1/" in this for loop: for process in $(sed -e "s/\(*\):.*/\1/" /etc/passwd) thx for any help edgehead (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: edgehead
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

problem about '..' in bash

There is an interview question about UNIX bash: Some shells like bash try to make '..' always work propery, namely, from home directory, cd ../$USER will place you in your home directory. Does bash always get this behavior correct? Anyway can provide any example that bash doesnt work well? ... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: usfish
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash problem with if

#!/bin/bash # This script takes two arguments: <path> and <dir>. It has to copy in <dir> #+ all regular files in <path> with .c extension containining at least one while #+ instruction and one if instruction. if then for file in $(ls "$1" | grep "\.c$") do if # doesn't... (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: Luke Bonham
9 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash problem