Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: read input-process-output
Top Forums Programming read input-process-output Post 302358812 by thegeek on Sunday 4th of October 2009 11:40:33 PM
Old 10-05-2009
If it is appropriate, use like the following.,
Code:
system("/bin/ls >> /tmp/lsout");

• system -- function call,
  • /bin/ls -- absolute path of command,
  • >> output redirection
  • /tmp/lsout -- absolute path of file to capture output.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read from file > process > output to file

Hi all, OK, I am totally new to shell scripting as I just started today. All I want from shell scripting is something very basic, and I've been searching for tutorials on "processing files" and I could not find a suitable one for my level. I want to read two columns from a data file, one raw... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Lorna
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to read the input from a file in background process?

Hi I have a script to run some other scripts automatically. But while running the script it should take the input value from a text file instead of taking from the keyboard. Please find last two lines of the script below. Here ans should be taken from a text file ineerly without displaying this... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: shirdi
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script to read input and output files and child scripts

I have a directory where i have *.sas; *.pl;*.sh and *.c scripts I need to find out what are the child scripts and input output files for each script: say I have a shell script which calls a perl script and a sas script: In my first line I want I a) the parent script name; b) the... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ramky79
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Read input and output redirection filename within a script