Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to recursively search and destroy tabs Post 302357798 by Scrutinizer on Wednesday 30th of September 2009 03:29:12 PM
Old 09-30-2009
Hi scottn,

I just tried and my grep (GNU grep 2.5.3) does not understand \t, it works fine with ctrl-v TAB however. With "\t" or '\t' it lists all the lines that contain the letter 't' .

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Looking for a good way to search & destroy lines

What is a good way to find an entry in a .conf file and then remove all lines associated with that entry? I have a Samba server running on Linux that I would like to easily add/remove share entries in the smb.conf file without removing or deleting lines that are not associated with that section.... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: darthur
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Recursively search for most recent modification

Hello all, I'm trying to determine when the last time a file in a certain directory was modified. I don't care what file it is, I just want to know when it was last updated. So far I have ls -aRl --full-time --sort=time which is close. The problem is that it only sorts within folders, not... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: lokisapocalypse
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed search and replace recursively

Hi, I tried making a shell script which recursively search in a given directory for all files *.txt and then search and replace some text and after that save each file as $filename.dynamips.txt I would like to get this done with sed. I tried but couldn't get it to work. BTW this is not... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: 2bone
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed -s does not search recursively