Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Cannot create pipe
Operating Systems SCO Cannot create pipe Post 302357588 by necron on Wednesday 30th of September 2009 08:16:15 AM
Old 09-30-2009
Cannot create pipe

Hi,

I'm new here, so please dont shoot me if I forgot something Smilie
Some SCO box we've (our company) got recently from a new customer runs an app that hangs the entire box every once in a while.
Today when an admin tried to start the db we got this error:
$ dbstart
dbstart: line 22: cannot create pipe [Out of stream resources]

Im pretty familiar with FreeBSD, but quite the noob with SCO, so what and where should I edit files in order to allow more resources to be used?
Or is this a (virtual) memory problem?

Regards,

Niels

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

How do I create desktop icons for the shell programs I create???

I am a bash shell programmer and I create programs on occasional basis. Now, I dont want my programs to be run by typing out its name at a command line. I want to make it as user friendly as possible. I want to create icons on the desktop so users can click on it. mind you, I said "desktop... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: TRUEST
7 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Can't create more pipe

How can I change the maxnumber of pipes on my workstation? I'm running an EXPECT script that is suppose to start up 32 xterms. But after 18 opened xterm, I get this msg: - couldn't create pipe: too many open files regard, chris (9 Replies)
Discussion started by: uabcbac
9 Replies

3. Programming

Create a pipe to /dev/tty

Hello everybody: I have a child process which reads a password from /dev/tty, as far as I know file descriptors for the child process can be seen by using lsof, so I want to connect to such device in order to send the password through a pipe, how could I do that? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: edgarvm
2 Replies

4. Homework & Coursework Questions