Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers What is the command use to combine line using sed Post 302357182 by vidyadhar85 on Tuesday 29th of September 2009 03:32:11 AM
Old 09-29-2009
if you use awk it will be more easy..
Code:
awk '{printf $0","}' filename

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

adding a new line using sed command

I need to find text "A" and replace it with A B. The issue is that I need a new line between A and B. \n does not do the work. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks, (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ivesia
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in sed command [ printing a pattern + its line no or line no alone ]

Hello friends, Only very recently i started learning sed command...an i found that sed is faster in finding the patterns than some of my scripts that uses grep to check the patten inside a file using line by line search method which is time consuming. The below script... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: frozensmilz
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Loop with sed command to replace line with sed command in it

Okay, title is kind of confusion, but basically, I have a lot of scripts on a server that I need to replace a ps command, however, the new ps command I'm trying to replace the current one with pipes to sed at one point. So now I am attempting to create another script that replaces that line. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cbo0485
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Combine sed command

Hi I have command and i want to short it. tr -c '' '' | sed 's/---/-/g' I want one sed command it is possible to include tr command in to sed Thanks (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: asavaliya
8 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed command to replace a line at a specific line number with some other line