Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Complete Newbie requiring help Post 302356678 by snoops on Saturday 26th of September 2009 06:23:34 PM
Old 09-26-2009
Thank you so much for your help. Really appreciate it.

Also have made a note of the command you have given for future reference. Smilie

Unfortunately the sections do not have a unique entry. However each section begins with a [

In Pseudo code what I want to do is:

For argument1 to argumentn do
read argument
Search file for argument
go back to the first [ on the line
extract everything until you reach the next [
save to file argument1.txt

I think once I have this then everything else I need to do I will be able to add to the script.

Thanks again

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Complete Newbie Question

I am in a test environment where i need to test several versions of UNIX, such as linux, solaris, SCO (ODT and Unixware). What i would like to know is there a universal way to work with the contents of a floppy diskette? I know some give you dos-like commands, but am looking for a way to access and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Dpinion
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

complete newbie

ok so i am trying redhat linux and i create a partiton and install it no worries then i start and i cant access any of my other drives i can mount cd roms and floppies so i am logged in as root what i want to do is mount the following drives drive 1 ide partition 2 drive 2 to 5 seen... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: davidjk
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

A complete Unix Newbie

I would like to know if I should install unix over a windows 98. I want to use a home computer to host websites right now, but I know how much Windows likes resources ;) So, my question is... Should I get a Unix OS? If no, then do not read more and just reply :) If yes, then, which one? How... (2 Replies)