Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: BASH Pipe question
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers BASH Pipe question Post 302355577 by chakrapani on Wednesday 23rd of September 2009 05:58:18 AM
Old 09-23-2009
alias evol="kill -9 $(ps -AH | grep evol | awk '{ print $2 }')"

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Question in reference to the pipe |

My question is can you use the pipe more than one time in the same command line? By the way I am new to UNIX. Thanks in advanced! (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: elkoreanopr
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

pipe | question

how do you pipe the results to next statement as argument? somecommand | grep $result somefile how do you reference $result with?? (12 Replies)
Discussion started by: convenientstore
12 Replies

3. Programming

Newbie question on exec,fork, wait,pipe C

Hello everybody.I want to make clear that i am not going to ask from anybody to build my asignement but i have a big problem. I can't seem to find anywhere ONE good example on C about what i am trying to do:wall:.I think it is simple. All i ask is one example, even a link is fine. So, i want to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Cuervo
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash Script Help...search then read from file: change text and pipe back...

Hello, I am trying to make a bash script that can pull data from a file and then change one part of said data. I want to search by username and pull the full line. That way there is a way to replace just one part of that line then return it back to the file. My Data is stored like: ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: serverfull
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Bash code to create named Pipe