Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Is there a way to tee stderr from a command that's redirecting error to a file? Post 302355339 by sumgi on Tuesday 22nd of September 2009 10:39:03 AM
Old 09-22-2009
Is there a way to tee stderr from a command that's redirecting error to a file?

I'm not a complete novice at unix but I'm not all that advanced either. I'm hoping that someone with a little more knowledge than myself has the answer I'm looking for.

I'm writing a wrapper script that will be passed user commands from the cron...

Ex:
Code:
./mywrapper.sh "/usr/bin/ps -ef | grep foo > log/ps.out 2>&1"

The wrapper will execute them from the cron and log start and stop times and any errors or exit codes.

Question:
However in the case as above that a user is redirecting their errors to their own log file is there a good way to sample the error such that both the user log and the wrapper log get the error message?

Let me know if you need more info, thanks!

Currently I am grabbing the stderr away from the user command and sending it to a temp file. However this method removes the error from the user log.

Ex:
Code:
eval "$1 2> temp.err"
ERR=`cat temp.err`
rm temp.err

Last edited by sumgi; 09-22-2009 at 02:05 PM..

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Redirecting stderr while live

If I forget to set up stderr redirection on execution of a script, is there a way to set that redirection post-exec? In other words, if I have a script running and no errors are being logged... and then I remember that I forgot the 2>&1 on the script... can I turn it on after the fact? ...and... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jjinno
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Redirecting STDERR message to STDOUT & file at same time