Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: which platform
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting which platform Post 302352896 by temhem on Monday 14th of September 2009 03:01:54 AM
Old 09-14-2009
Bug which platform

hi everyone,

i am new in unix. i want to write(develop) unix shell script/program.
which platform can i use.
Generally i write scripts in "vi" platform.
Are there any platform for develop shell programs.
Please help me.

Thanx for your advice.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Platform decision

Hi folks First, let me apologize in advance for the long message. I know this will sound like a typical "newbie" message but I am really working to understand the technology in order to make informed decisions. I am currently in the process of evaluating Unix hardware and OS platforms for an... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Scooter
5 Replies

2. AIX

AIX platform

Hello, I need to download some programs to AIX 5.2 box but the download page have two versions: for 32 and 64 bits. Is there a command to know what platform is my AIX 5.2 box? I mean 32 or 64 bits?? Thanks in advance. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jpoot
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Multiple platform scripts

Hello I'm writing a script system in bash that I want to run on Un*x (SunOS), Linux, and cygwin also. The scripts starts with the sha-bang #!/bin/bash, but I experienced that the bash interpreter path are different on these platforms. My question is how can I manipulate the command interpreter... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: *ptr
8 Replies

4. Programming

Platform type in Unix

Hi all, How does one get the platform type in UNIX (for e.g. sparc/i386)? I need an function call and not the command like uname -p. thanks! (24 Replies)
Discussion started by: slash_blog
24 Replies

5. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Most used unix platform as desktop.