Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Offsite Backup Solution
Operating Systems AIX Offsite Backup Solution Post 302352158 by ITAdmin08 on Thursday 10th of September 2009 02:07:01 PM
Old 09-10-2009
I have a Unix-AIX server that hosts our ERP system. A full backup of the /u2 directory which is a Universe Database is scheduled every night on tape, I also do a mksysb every month on tape manually. What i need to do is backup or put a backup file of the Universe Database onto a server at my other location everyday. The backup could be ran at night and then transfered to the server in the other location, i believe i have the diskspace or it could be done over the network at night as mentioned by Bakunin. There is only roughly 20GB of data being backed up.

I would like to try using rsync, however i have no experience with it at all. I know it's not installed on my server so i would need help getting it installed. I have mostly worked with linux and am a little unsure on how to install programs in unix. It would all have to be done via command line as that is how my system is setup.
I have a WAN setup between locations so it should be easy to get the data there.

Let me know what other info you might need.

thanks for the help.

Last edited by ITAdmin08; 09-10-2009 at 03:23 PM..

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

offsite backup for solaris

any hot sites out there for backup of a sun unix server. can't verify my tape backups and want a "disaster recovery" option (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jbksman
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

enterprise backup solution

We are using sun_sparc solaris 2.5.1 with oracle database 8.0.5 We are considering to buy for buying backup software for this purpose . Our systems integrator says veritas could not be installed due to some technical reasons (they are veritas authorised dealer) . And is suggesting Netvault... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Hitesh Shah
3 Replies