Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting PERL: simple comparing arrays question Post 302351216 by hcclnoodles on Monday 7th of September 2009 04:43:34 PM
Old 09-07-2009
MySQL

thanks guys, that has been incredibly useful and informative

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comparing Arrays?

Is there anyway that I can compare two Arrays to see if any new strings have been added in them? eg: Array 1: Joe Bob Jane Array 2: Joe Bob Jane Greg It would then output a new array with the changes: Array 3: Greg I'm not very good at shell scripting, and my google and forum searches... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: blckleprd
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl: simple question on string append

I want to append a decimal number to a string. But I want to restrict the number to only 2 decimal points for e.g: my $output = "\n The number is = "; my $number = 2.3333333; $output = $output . $number; But I want the $output as: "The number is = 2.33"; and not 2.3333333 (I do not... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: the_learner
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

comparing two arrays or strings in bash

Hi there, im having issue with comparing two variables, in a bash script. im trying to do the following: - get a word from user 1 - split the word into array - get a character from user2 trying to compare the character entered by user 2 with every single character in the array... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: new2Linux
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Comparing arrays in perl

Hi all, I am trying to compare two arrays in perl using the following code. foreach $item (@arrayA){ push(@arrayC, $item) unless grep(/$item/, @arrayB); ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: chriss_58
1 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple perl question