Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to get surrounding lines of my grep search? Post 302350831 by Scrutinizer on Saturday 5th of September 2009 04:40:26 PM
Old 09-05-2009
Code:
grep -B2 -A2

-B before
-A after

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How can you show lines surrounding a search string?

I would like to be able to grep (or some such thing) a search argument and then display the line plus the preceding 3 lines of the file and the following 3 lines of the file. Any ideas? Thanks in advance! :D (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: robster
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Surrounding a chunk of code by #ifdef and #endif

Hello the great gurus :) I'm quite new to this, so perhaps I'm asking a simple and trivial question (which is good, because you'll answer for sure :)))) Anyway. I have an amount of *.c files (about 100), and what I want to do, is to surround a specific function call with #ifdef and #endif. ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: xxxaxa
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

View all lines in grep search

I am trying to grep a file and I need to show the schedules that the grep belongs too. here is the command I am using and the result I am getting: $ fgrep -e 'SCALHOL' twsschedules EXCEPT SCALHOL -1 DAYS EXCEPT SCALHOL -1 DAYS EXCEPT SCALHOL -1 DAYS ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: wereyou
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to get surrounding lines of grep result

hi, if i have a file and i want to search for the word error using grep, i usually want to see the surrounding lines too as they contain info about the error. what would be a nice way to achieve this? thanks (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: JamesByars
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl XML, find matching condition and grep lines and put the lines somewhere else