Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: my number problem
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting my number problem Post 302348522 by zappedback on Friday 28th of August 2009 01:26:50 PM
Old 08-28-2009
my number problem

hi guys im a newbie at scripting and am writhing a basic phone dir script to teach myself scripting now the problem i have is i need to make sure the tel number entered to the script is only 8 digits and the first number is not a zero. to use the script i do this ./dir.sh "name" 12345678 can anyone help me here thanks in advance if you can

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Programming

Problem in getting the correct number from the string.

I have string named texts which consist of section label “BOOK-SEC-“. Section starts from 1 to n, where n is a number. For this example conside the value of n is 9. That is, the string variable looks like “BOOK-SEC-1... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: SamRoj
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Basic number checking problem

Hello all I am having problems using a bash script to read the input from the user and checking that its a valid number. I only want the user to input a maximum of a 3 number string (321 , 521 , 871 etc.). Anything longer or that includes a chararcter or symbol will display an error message. ... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: ChrisHoogie
8 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Number of users problem

Hi. I have a problem with my homework. I have to do a Script that will tell me the number of users that are logged in on my system through a network and find out their IP's. Can you give me an idea? Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mitzu
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris magic number problem