Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting small sed script on command line. Post 302347527 by zaxxon on Wednesday 26th of August 2009 12:23:43 AM
Old 08-26-2009
Not sure if I understood; nevertheless:
Code:
$> cat infile
eins
zwei
pattern
vier
fuenf
$>sed -e '/pattern/i\#comment' -e 's/pattern/newpattern/' infile
eins
zwei
#comment
newpattern
vier
fuenf

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help in sed command [ printing a pattern + its line no or line no alone ]

Hello friends, Only very recently i started learning sed command...an i found that sed is faster in finding the patterns than some of my scripts that uses grep to check the patten inside a file using line by line search method which is time consuming. The below script... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: frozensmilz
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Loop with sed command to replace line with sed command in it

Okay, title is kind of confusion, but basically, I have a lot of scripts on a server that I need to replace a ps command, however, the new ps command I'm trying to replace the current one with pipes to sed at one point. So now I am attempting to create another script that replaces that line. ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: cbo0485
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed command to replace a line at a specific line number with some other line

my requirement is, consider a file output cat output blah sdjfhjkd jsdfhjksdh sdfs 23423 sdfsdf sdf"sdfsdf"sdfsdf"""""dsf hellow there this doesnt look good et cetc etc etcetera i want to replace a line of line number 4 ("this doesnt look good") with some other line ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: vivek d r
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed command to grep multiple pattern present in single line and delete that line