Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting how to assign script argument to a variable Post 302347381 by rohankit on Tuesday 25th of August 2009 01:47:02 PM
Old 08-25-2009
how to assign script argument to a variable

I have a script file. test.sh
I am running it by command
sh test.sh 10102004

where 10102004 is the script argument.
I wan to assign this 10102004 to a variable.
How can i do this?

I tried &1 and awks ARGV[1] its not working Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to assign sql output data to shell script variable

Hi Guys ! I am new to unix and want to find out how we can make sql statement data to shell script variable? Any help/suggestion is greatly appreciated -Chandra (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: kattics
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to assign the result of a SQL command to more than one variable in shell script.

Hi Friends... Please assist me to assign the result of a SQL query that results two column, to two variables. Pls find the below code that I write for assigning one column to one variable. and please correct if anything wrong.. #! /bin/sh no=' sqlplus -s uname/password@DBname... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: little_wonder
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to assign the output of the interective script to the variable

Hi, I work in ksh88. I have an interective script which prompts the user for the input and returns numeric value depending on the input provided. I need to call this script inside another script and then assign the resulting output the the variable. The call like that A=`my script` obviously... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: aoussenko
6 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

assign awk's variable to shell script's variable?