Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Red Hat Dns configuration error in Redhat Post 302347272 by fpmurphy on Tuesday 25th of August 2009 09:47:48 AM
Old 08-25-2009
It looks like you are using the chroot setup but loading named.conf from /etc.
You need to modify /etc/sysconfig/named to include the following directive
Code:
ROOTDIR=/var/named/chroot

After you have modified named.conf you should always test it using
Code:
service named testconfig

The ACL (Access Control List) errors are due to the fact that you are using "nms.example.com" in the listen-on and allow-query directives in the options statement. You cannot use FQDNs this way. You must do it something like this.
Code:
acl nms {
    10.13.0.123;
};
listen-on port 53 { nms; 10.13.74.162; 127.0.0.1; };
allow-query { nms; 10.13.0.0/24; };

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

DNS configuration problem

Hi all, I am a beginner in DNS service and I face difficult when configure DNS sub domain using "bind" version 8. So I would like to ask a question about this and hope someone can answer my question. Is it possible to configure a sub domain in which the name of this sub domain is same as a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: raylai
2 Replies

2. IP Networking

proxy DNS configuration

i have the DNS and the web proxy services running on one of my sun machines....the funny thing is clients use the proxy server by addressing it with its IP address only....what i need is to assign it like...proxy.amu.edu.et...... my guess is the problem is the configuration with the DNS ...but i... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: henokia4j
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Redhat DNS Entry