Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Script that waits until a call is done Post 302346547 by KenJackson on Saturday 22nd of August 2009 10:29:46 PM
Old 08-22-2009
Are you using Linux? If so, you can install the inotify-tools package (project page). Then call inotifywait with appropriate switches and the file or directory name. It sleeps until there is a file event and then wakes up.

That's much better than polling.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. IP Networking

ftp waits for longer time to reply

If i fire followin command on unix (linux/solaris) and windows ftp serverX where serverX is not in the network, it takes more time to get reply on unix(3-4 mins) rather windows(1 min), can anybody tell me why this happens? and how to reduce this time span? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: amolwar
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script executes program, but waits for a prompt

Sorry, newbie here. I have the following shell script which basically executes the sh-n-body.i686 program a specified number of times. However, before the sh-n-body.i686 begins its calculations it prompts for input from the user. In this case the user would have press ". return" and... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: lionatucla
7 Replies

3. Programming

Runtime.getSystem.exec() function waits for child

Runtime.getSystem.exec() waits for child process to complete .. I do not want to wait for the child process to complete ..what is the option which has to be used ? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: shafi2all
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to run script? call other script? su to another user? make a cron?

Good morning. I am searching for "how-to"'s for some particular questions: 1. How to write a script in HP-UX 11. 2. How to schedule a script. 3. How to "call" scripts from the original script. 4. How to su to another user from within a script. This is the basics of what the... (15 Replies)