Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Date Formatting, etc.
Operating Systems OS X (Apple) Date Formatting, etc. Post 302346414 by patricksprague on Friday 21st of August 2009 10:36:14 PM
Old 08-21-2009
Date Formatting, etc.

Hi -

I'm using GeekTool to customize my desktop in OS X 10.5.8

I'm a complete novice as far as UNIX commands, just know enough to be dangerous.

I have a command entered as a Shell to display my events from iCal:

Quote:
/usr/local/bin/icalBuddy eventsToday+3 | sed -e "s/*//" | sed -e "s/!/!!/"
This makes my events show something like this:

Quote:
Event Name (Calendar Name)
2009-08-24 at 24:00 - 24:00
While this is awesome, I'd like to customize it. For one, I'd like the date to be formatted as this:

Quote:
like I can do with this command:

Quote:
date '+%a %m%.%d%.%y'
and the time to be in 12 hour format

But I cannot seem to figure out how to make the iCal events date show correctly.

Help?!?!? SmilieSmilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Formatting date

i need date in the following format December 14, 2005. With date +"%b %d, %Y" command i am getting the following output :- Dec 14, 2005. can anyone pls tell me how to get the full month name (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: radhika03
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

date formatting

Date format MM/DD/YYYY required is YYYYMMDD, I tried using sed but could not get it any help please. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mgirinath
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Date formatting

Running bash how do I input the date in the command line like 3/20/90 and get an output formmated like March, 20 1990. (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: knc9233
8 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

formatting date in ksh