Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux Fedora Unix which can easily boot from a DVD Post 302345973 by Rich147 on Thursday 20th of August 2009 06:13:00 PM
Old 08-20-2009
Unix which can easily boot from a DVD

Hi,

Really sorry if this is in the wrong place etc but I really need some big time newbie help Smilie

I am a recent Maths graduate and have been invited to a 4 day job interview/assessment where I will be taught and tested on the following:
"Fedora UNIX, Bash Scripting".

Having no experience in a Unix environment and only a little in any other programming language (Java), but I am hoping I can find myself a type of Unix which I could easily boot from a DVD and begin practising some of this code.

If any of you guys could point me in the right direction I would be very thankful.

Thank you in advance.

-Rich

(Oh and I did have a shot at downloading and installing Solaris, but I think I would need to partition my HDD and I'm not really up for that).

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Cannot boot - Boot : Panic : File size out of range (EWS-UX/V unix)

Hey ! I am running EWS-UX/V (Rel 4.2) on NEC EWS/4800/330 station and I am having problems rebooting my station : I am getting the following message on display : BOOT : PANIC : File size out of range. According to user guide, this error is occuring when a file exceeding the limit and/or... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: fredo
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Change password script in Unix easily..

I have more than 50 server unix's password need to change, usually I assign one password for all hosts, for easy remember, but I need to change password every two months..it's very tried to change password every 2 months, is there any unix script that can change password easily? ie ' script... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: zp523444
4 Replies

3. Solaris

Boot options - DVD drive read error