Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Problem with diff command
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Problem with diff command Post 302345866 by mahesh_raghu on Thursday 20th of August 2009 11:45:23 AM
Old 08-20-2009
Problem with diff command

Hello Guys,

I am a newbie to Unix. I was going through the diff command with example
like this,

[mraghunandanan@localhost ~]$ cat 1
[mraghunandanan@localhost ~]$ cat 2

My output is like this:

[mraghunandanan@localhost ~]$ diff 1 2
2,3d1
< 2
< 4
4a3,4
> 3
> 2
6d5
< 9

I am not able to understand the output, like what is the use of d,a,c and < and > symbols in this output.Can anyone explain the output. It would be of great help.

Regards,

Mahesh Raghunandanan

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Diff command problem

Folks, I am Diff'ing 2 identical files..and the result is, it shows all the lines from 2 files (saying nothing is being matched). If I copy the content from 1 of the file and paste in a newly created file and then do the diff, it equals. 2 files are xml files. I've tried many... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: gvsreddy_539
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Problem in using diff

Hi, When i use diff command, i get the output like this 2c2 < Table Name: AAA Row Count:96 SUM(F1): 3739 MAX(F1):77 MIN(F1): 0 AVG(F1): 38.9479167 LENGTH(LINE): 2260 --- > Table Name: AAA Row Count:96 SUM(F1): 4009 MAX(F1):77 MIN(F1): 0 AVG(F1): 40.9479167 LENGTH(LINE): 2260 4a5,10 >... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: ragavhere
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

diff command

All, How to exclude a directory while diff execution? For ex: To exclude file which we don't want to see diff, we have -x <filename>. Thanks in advance (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Vichu
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

diff command help