Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Simple AWK script problem.
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Simple AWK script problem. Post 302343875 by summer_cherry on Friday 14th of August 2009 01:49:18 AM
Old 08-14-2009
Code:
awk '{arr[$1]++;brr[$1]+=$2}END{for (i in brr)print i" "brr[i]/arr[i]}' yourfile

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

simple shell script problem

hi all. i have a little problem. im basically reading input from the user from the keyboard into the variable "phonenumber". I want to do a little error check to check if the user doesnt enter anything in for the value phonenumber. i had this: read phonenumber if then ..... else ........ (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: djt0506
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple script problem

Hi everyone - I am sure this is a really simple problem but I'm a total noob at Linux scripting: I wanted to create a script that allows me to compare the current week number to the contents of a text file in my home directory: VAR1='date +%V' VAR2='cat /home/fred/file.txt' ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: FiniteRed
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk gsub simple problem

Hi New to shell script and awk and need assistance on this problem. I need to use a variable to substitute a string in an external file and write the changed info to another file. At first I did not know if you could use a variable as the sub value but the following showed me that I can. ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: hukcjv
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

simple awk problem

pcn linus> ntpq -p remote refid st t when poll reach delay offset disp ============================================================================== +smpnn01 ntpsrv1 2 u 829 1024 377 1.46 0.793 0.85 *smpnn02 ntpsrv1 2 u ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: arch12
2 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Simple bash script problem