Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: How to execute Grep in Perl.
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to execute Grep in Perl. Post 302343823 by chompy on Thursday 13th of August 2009 05:54:29 PM
Old 08-13-2009
Try using system() or exec().

e.g.
Code:
system("grep edge test_1 |sort|uniq >result.txt")

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

a cron job needs a perl script to execute

Hello evreyone, this is my first post, and to say i'm new to this is an understatement. I know very little about perl scripts and hope some one can help me. i'm looking to get a script that a cron job can execute. what the script needs to to is 1) connect to a mysql database 2) go to a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: Exader
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to execute java program from perl

hello all how can i run the java command that can eccept N numbers of args for example : java -cp .;foo.jar myApp 1 "ww" or java -cp .;foo.jar myApp 1 2 3 "ww" or java -cp .;foo.jar myApp "args1" "args2" "args3" Thanks (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: umen
1 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Use grep result to execute next command

Hi I am trying to run 2 servers using a script one after the other. I start the first one: run.sh -c servername >> jboss_log.txt & Then I have to wait until I see Started message in the log file before I launch the other server. I can't use sleep because I am not sure how long it'll... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: iririr
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Execute grep command within a folder

Experts, i need your help to made an enhance query using the existing one. i'm using a command "find . -exec grep -l 'search string' {} \;" to search a particular sting within the file within a folder. Basically, my idea is to fine tune my search. What i want is, instead of searching all files... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: gav_dhiman
2 Replies