Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Finding line with highest number in a file Post 302343224 by Smiling Dragon on Wednesday 12th of August 2009 03:13:18 AM
Old 08-12-2009
Code:
sort -nk 2 < file1 | tail -1

Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

find the highest number in the file

Hi, I have a file a.txt and it has values in it Eg :- I need to read through the file and find the number that is the greatest in them all. Can any one assit me on this. Thanks (30 Replies)
Discussion started by: systemali
30 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding the line number of matching braces

Hi,I am new to shell scripting and i want to find the line numbers of matching braces. The file contents are as follows File XXX.dat 1 ( CLASS "FRUIT" 2 (TYPE "PERSISTENT") 3 (MESSAGE_TYPE "M") 4 (GET_REQRD "Y") 5 (SET_REQRD "Y") 6 ) 7 ( CLASS... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rajendra_1510
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

finding the line number from a grep ?

Hi there does anybody know how i can get the line number from an entry or entries in a file ?? for example if i had a file test1 test2 test3 test1 and i needed to get the line numbers for all instances of test1 in that file with the answer being (1,4) Would anybody be able... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: hcclnoodles
7 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Displaying lines of a file which have the highest number?

Hello Wondering if anybody may be able to advise on how I can filter the contents of the following file: <object_name>-<version> <Instance> GM_GUI_code.fmb-4 1 GM_GUI_code.fmb-5 1 GM_GUI_code.fmx-4 ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Glyn_Mo
7 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding the line with the exact same number