Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting program for multiplication in shell script Post 302343216 by sandeep.krish on Wednesday 12th of August 2009 02:54:43 AM
Old 08-12-2009
program for multiplication in shell script

Hi,
I wanted to write a schell program that fetches the values from a file and prints the output as its onerall multiplication.

for example I have a file named abc. it has values 2, 3, 4

now my program should give me 2*3*4 ie 24.

note:this file abc can have any numbers.

so experts,
please help me with this program.i am a newbie to unix schell programing Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

shell script program

shell script for sorting,searchingand insertion/deletion of elements in a list (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jayaram_miryabb
1 Replies

2. Programming

How to include shell script in C program

hi I want to call a shell script in C program the script is : ssh -t user@remote sh /<remote>home/user/<file_name>.sh and other several commands C program : Call this script and the retrive the task that is been done in <file_name>.sh file can any one tell me how... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: mridula
5 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help on C-shell script program

#!/bin/csh # This program will add integers # # # add integer1 .. # # Check for argument if ($#argv == 0 ) then echo "usage: add integers" exit 1 else set input = $argv endif # set sum = 0 foreach var ( $input ) @sum = $sum + $input end # (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: haze21
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Error with "multiplication table" in shell script

#!/bin/sh echo Enter the multiplication number required: read number for i in 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 do echo "$number * $i = expr $number \* $i" done I am not getting the output for this multiplication table. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: vinodpaw
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting