Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users copying of files by userB, dir & files owned by userA Post 302342110 by methyl on Friday 7th of August 2009 11:41:27 AM
Old 08-07-2009
Assuming you have read permissions to userA's files:
One way (with cpio). This method is described in both "man find" and "man cpio".

Code:
cd /home/userA
find . -type f -print|cpio -pdumv /temp1

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to copy specified files from list of files from dir A to dir B

Hello, fjalkdsjfkldsajflkajdskl (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: pmeesara
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

copying files to new dir

Hello, I'm new to shell scripting so I don't really understand what I'm doing wrong. The script I'm trying to do saves all the files (*.c) on the current dir to a list and, one by one, copies them to a new one called Backup. The thing is, if there are already other versions of the files I'm... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: G3nn
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Copying specific files from one dir to another

Hi Folks, I have one curious case. There are list of following files placed in one directory such as... And updated each month. files.JAN09.csv files.FEB09.csv files.MAR09.csv ..... Now, I need to move a specific files; i.e, For this month, I need to move only OCT09, NOV09, DEC09,... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Jerald Nathan
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding & Copying files

Hello :) can someone please help me with this task: I am in the shell, in folder "Main" below the folder Main are sub folders: "sourceA", "Source B", and "target" in sourceA and source B are files, and in folder "Main" is a textfile, with filenames, one filename per line. I need a... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Y-T
4 Replies

5. Red Hat

sudo from userA to userB