Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users copying of files by userB, dir & files owned by userA Post 302340839 by Hangman2 on Tuesday 4th of August 2009 12:03:17 PM
Old 08-04-2009
copying of files by userB, dir & files owned by userA

I am userB and have a dir

/temp1

This dir is owned by me.

How do I recursively copy files from another users's dir userA?

I need to preserve the original user who created files, original group information, original create date, mod date etc.

I tried

cp -pr /home/userA/* .

but it shows the files as being created by me.

So how do I do this?

Thanks in advance.

Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to copy specified files from list of files from dir A to dir B

Hello, fjalkdsjfkldsajflkajdskl (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: pmeesara
3 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

copying files to new dir

Hello, I'm new to shell scripting so I don't really understand what I'm doing wrong. The script I'm trying to do saves all the files (*.c) on the current dir to a list and, one by one, copies them to a new one called Backup. The thing is, if there are already other versions of the files I'm... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: G3nn
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Copying specific files from one dir to another

Hi Folks, I have one curious case. There are list of following files placed in one directory such as... And updated each month. files.JAN09.csv files.FEB09.csv files.MAR09.csv ..... Now, I need to move a specific files; i.e, For this month, I need to move only OCT09, NOV09, DEC09,... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Jerald Nathan
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Finding & Copying files