Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Sys Admin Certification
Operating Systems Solaris Sys Admin Certification Post 302338959 by bluridge on Wednesday 29th of July 2009 10:53:18 AM
Old 07-29-2009
go for the cert

King,

I have a Sol9 certification. But I have been a SysAdmin for more than 10 years and on a few flavors of Unix systems most notably HPUX 11.0 and Solaris 8/9 and some 10.

IMO getting certified requires some work. Job experience is not a must but if you have some experience it will help because "doing is believing" LOL. I really od not see the need to get cert for the heck of it but if you are going to pursue work as a sysadm then a cert will help you get started but you will be on the bottom of the totem pole whether you have the cert or not. Just be prepared to work on the bottom and working up. I see no reason not to get certified.

Also watch SUN's website closely in the promotions links. They often offer exams where when you buy one exam you can retake for free but its offered like 1 or 2 times a year and offered in a 1 or 2 month timeframe. So you have to catch this promotion. Not too bad to get a free retake within a year of the first failure.

I should caution you that getting this Sol10 cert if not going to land you any jobs...you'd do as well as without the cert. Experience counts as far as sysadm goes...

Good luck!

7 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to get hired as a Unix sys admin?

What do employers look for? I have my B.S in Comp Sci and minor in chemistry from UNC. But my GPA is a bit low (3.0) I'm studying for my Sun Solaris 9 certification. Is a certification and a Bachelors enough to get a job? Or do you need some related work experience? How hard is it to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: CapsuleCorpJX
2 Replies

2. Solaris

Raid help for new sys admin