Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Search for a whole line in a file Post 302338211 by Shazin on Monday 27th of July 2009 09:35:57 AM
Old 07-27-2009
Search for a whole line in a file

Hi All,

Please can anyone advise how can I search a whole line in a file.

Best Regards,
Shazin

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Search in a file and get the next line as well

Hi All, i'm new here in the forum and UNIX too. I have a quick question. I have a file containing the following lines: 3:40:27 su :0002:9999:2:399 'su sdfrun' succeeded for root on /dev/??? 23:40:29 su :0005:0342:2:1 Disk Utilization threshold What i want to... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: turi
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

how can search a String in one text file and replace the whole line in another file

i am very new to UNIX plz help me in this scenario i have two text files as below file1.txt name=Rajakumar. Discipline=Electronics and communication. Designation=software Engineer. file2.txt name=Kannan. Discipline=Mechanical. Designation=CADD Design Engineer. ... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kkraja
6 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Search first line of file

Hello, I'm doing a script and wanted to look inside a word file and return me the first line number where you will find that word. Thank you very much Example( serach name) : hello my name ---> Line 3 is charles and name is --> this NO!!! only 3 beautiful (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: uri_crack
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

perl search and replace - search in first line and replance in 2nd line

Dear All, i want to search particular string and want to replance next line value. following is the test file. search string is tmp,??? ,10:1 "???" may contain any 3 character it should remain the same and next line replace with ,10:50 tmp,123 --- if match tmp,??? then... (3 Replies)