Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: awk matrix problem
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk matrix problem Post 302337306 by philstar on Thursday 23rd of July 2009 07:51:21 PM
Old 07-23-2009
awk matrix problem

hi there
I'm very new in programing and i've started with awk.
I'm processing 200 data files and I need to do some precessing on them.
The files have 3 columns with N-lines
for each line a have on the first and second value is the same for all the files and only the third is variable. like this:

file1
0.003 0.004 4
0.005 -0.003 3
-0.023 0.423 2
file2
0.003 0.004 5
0.005 -0.003 4
-0.023 0.423 8

I need an output that can give me a matrix than the 1st and 2nd column are the same but the 3 must be a mean of all the values of all files

outputfile
0.003 0.004 mean
0.005 -0.003 mean
-0.023 0.423 mean

i have another problem cause' sometimes the value in the 3d column is not a number (NaN) and I can't count that one for the mean.

Can anyone give me some ideiasSmilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

need help-matrix inverse (awk)

I have few days to complete my awk homework. But I'm stucked. i hope some1 will help me out. I have to inverse n x n matrix, but I have problems with finding the determinant of the matrix. I found the algoritm, how to find a determinant of n x n matrix:... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: vesyyr
0 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

matrix inverse (awk)

I need to inverse a matrix given in a file. The problem is I'm stuck with writing determinant finding algoritm into code. I found this algoritm about finding determinant of nxn matrix. This is what i need: Matrices and Determinants and here: a11 a12 a13 a21 a22 a23 a31 a32 a33... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: vesyyr
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Perl- matrix problem