Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: split files based on size
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers split files based on size Post 302334842 by khanvader on Thursday 16th of July 2009 06:55:41 PM
Old 07-16-2009
Can you please explain jsut a little bit how this works for my understanding?

I can see that it will look under current directory and subdirectories for files with size over 5M..what is -type f do?. I am fairly new to unix...but just some general idea would be fine.

Thanks.

---------- Post updated at 05:55 PM ---------- Previous update was at 03:26 PM ----------

Also it echo all the files in the directory (by splitting) and I know there is only one that is over 5MB. However, if I change the size in find to +5242800c (bytes) then it echo the right file. So what could be wrong with +5M ?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Split file based on size

Hi Friends, Below is my requirement. I have a file with the below structure. 0001A1.... 0001B1.. .... 0001L1 0002A1 0002B1 ...... 0002L1 .. the first 4 characters are the sequence numbers for a record, A record will start with A1 and end with L1 with same sequence number. Now the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: diva_thilak
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Split a file based on pattern and size

Hello, I have a large file (2GB) that I would like to split based on pattern and size. I've used the following command to split the file (token is "HELLO") awk '/HELLO/{i++}{print > "file"i}' input.txt and the output is similar to the following (i included filesize in KB): 10 ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jl487
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Split a file into multiple files based on field value