Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Renaming files after their directory name in multiple sub directories Post 302334526 by robotsbite on Wednesday 15th of July 2009 07:52:11 PM
Old 07-15-2009
Question Renaming files after their directory name in multiple sub directories

So I am not sure if this should go in the shell forum or in the beginners. It is my first time posting on these forums.

I have a directory, main_dir lets say, with multiple sub directories (one_dir through onehundred_dir for example) and in each sub directory there is a test.txt. How would one rename all the text.txt files after thier respective subdir name.
so from:

main_dir/one_dir/test.text
main_dir/two_dir/test.text

to:
main_dir/one_dir/one_dir.text
main_dir/two_dir/two_dir.text
Any assistance would be really helpful. And if you could point me to a resource to learn these kind of things on my own without just reading all the man pages I would appreciate that as well.
Thanks,
robotsbite

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Batch Renaming: Change files' extensions in many sub-directories

Hi all - I'm trying to rename a large number of files all at once and need some help figuring out the command line syntax to do it. I've already done quite a bit of research with the rename and mv commands, but so far haven't found a solution that seems to work for me. So: The files exist... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: dave920
10 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

renaming files in the directory

suppose i have a few file like "a b c.txt" , "hello world.c" etc...(files that have space between them in their filenames). how do i change their filenames to "a_b_c.txt" and "hello_world.c" respectively? heres what i have tried...but failed $ find -name "*" -exec mv "{}" "`echo {} | tr "... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: c_d
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers