Sponsored Content
Operating Systems Linux The dot command-line utility? Post 302334412 by varelg on Wednesday 15th of July 2009 01:04:06 PM
Old 07-15-2009
The dot command-line utility?

Hi,
What else is the dot used beside relative filepaths in bash? Is it a shell utility as well?
No man entry for dot (.)...

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

command to list dot files

hey. i am a bit new to unix and i am trying to figure out how to list the names of the 'dot' files that are in my account. what command does this? thank you very much for your help. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: Jakeman1086
4 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Simple ed questions - insert line with dot

Hi I've got a trivial question on using ed (yes, I know, other editors are better!) How do I insert a line that is just a single dot? (That is, how do I insert a line that starts with a dot and then new line) Thanks Peter (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: peterl
4 Replies

3. Programming

command line socket read utility

HI I have a messaging s/w daemon(TIBCO rvrd) provided by vendor which will accept connections from various clients and routes messages to the destinations. In order to route it internally uses two ports(one tcp adn one udp). I want to know on which port(tcp/udp) it is transmitting... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: axes
3 Replies

4. Programming

top command line utility

I'm writing a monitoring application. I'd like to periodically get the information provided by the 'top' command line utility from within my code and write the output of 'top' to a file. Wondering if anyone has already done something like this. Doing system("top > someFile"); does not create... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: antoniomorandi
6 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to call dot c file using system command