Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help with Bash script - set, awk Post 302333604 by Franklin52 on Monday 13th of July 2009 01:08:00 PM
Old 07-13-2009
I don't know what's wrong, the code seems to be correct, post a part of the original file and the desired output within code tags.

Regards

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

bash variable (set via awk+sed) not working as expected

Hi! Been working on a script and I've been having a problem. I've finally narrowed it down to this variable I'm setting: servername=$(awk -v FS=\/ '{ print $7 } blah.txt | sed 's\/./-/g' | awk -v FS=\- '{print $1}')" This will essentially pare down a line like this: ... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: creativedynamo
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Using AWK in a bash script

So I am a newbie obviously but I need some help. I am trying to run a script to check that the number of fields in a database is equal to 4, if not they should try again and run an appropriate database file. The fields are separated by a semi colon. I've tried a lot of things, this what I'm... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: mb001
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help: How to convert this bash+awk script in awk script only?

This is the final first release of the dynamic menu generator for pekwm (WM). #!/bin/bash function param_val { awk "/^${1}=/{gsub(/^${1}="'/,""); print; exit}' $2 } echo "Dynamic {" for CF in `ls -c1 /usr/share/applications/*.desktop` do name=$(param_val Name $CF) ... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: alexscript
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK/Bash script

I would like to write a script to extend this command to a general case: BEGIN {s_0=0;n_0=0}{n_0++;s_0+=($51-$1)^2}END {print sqrt(s_0/n_0)} i.e. so that BEGIN {s_0=0;n_0=0}{n_0++;s_0+=($51-$1)^2}END {print sqrt(s_0/n_0)} BEGIN {s_1=0;n_1=0}{n_1++;s_1+=($51-$2)^2}END {print... (3 Replies)