Sponsored Content
Operating Systems SCO newbie - CUPS installation & C compiler Post 302333319 by bbxguy on Sunday 12th of July 2009 03:02:52 PM
Old 07-12-2009
newbie - CUPS installation & C compiler

Ok new in here so be gentle:

I'm a programmer with the need to also be a sys admin on a box running:
Quote:
!uname -X

System = SCO_SV
Node = scosysv
Release = 3.2v5.0.5
KernelID = 98/07/02
Machine = i80386
BusType = ISA
Serial = 2GL054643
Users = 30-user
OEM# = 0
Origin# = 1
NumCPU = 1
Client has purchased a Kyocera KM-4035 do it all machine. However, no driver exists for SCO and when I contacted their Kyocera rep he told me to install CUPS. I downloaded CUPS and ran ./configure which displays the following
Quote:
checking for gawk... no
checking for mawk... no
checking for nawk... nawk
checking for gcc... no
checking for cc... no
checking for cl.exe... no
configure: error: no acceptable C compiler found in $PATH
I googled some things and it looks like C needs to be on the box.
Now I am at a loss on how to prodeed.

Can anyone provide advice?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Software Installation Help - Newbie

Let me start off by saying that I am by no means a unix person. I am tasked to install log4cxx on a brand new machine but it looks like we need the apr, apr-utils, libtool, make, autoconf, automake, and gcc packages just to install log4cxx. Our machine came with no c compiler so I couldn't build... (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: JohnRodey
6 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Newbie's question about COBOL Installation in Unix

I wanna to install a COBOL on the AIX unix server. Would u like to tell me the disk usage of COBOL installation? Thanks in advance. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: GCTEII
2 Replies

3. AIX

Installation of CUPS in AIX