Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Help, awk sed sort
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Help, awk sed sort Post 302328731 by mycoy on Thursday 25th of June 2009 05:53:22 AM
Old 06-25-2009
Help, awk sed sort

Hi,everyone:
I'm new to shell, and now get trouble with some script:
Code:
line=`/usr/xpg4/bin/awk '/^([^\|]*\|){2}'"$CR"'/ {print $0}' ${TIER4FILE}|grep -v 

OSNAME=`sed -n ''$LINE'p' $DATALOC/os`

sort +1 /tmp/LhasaCRs2 > /tmp/LhasaCRs1

I cannot understand the "{2}" here. My mentor said it meant the second domain, but I tried and I don't think so.

In the second line, I cannot figure out the exact meaning of the script.

In the last line, I searched that "+" is the domain number, but I cannot run "sort" with "+" on my system like that.
Could anybody help? Thanks a lot.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

how to use sed to sort out this question

root:x:0:0:0000-Admin(0000):/:/sbin/sh rootcsh:x:0:1:0000-Admin(0000):/:/bin/csh nocol:x:6312:630:NOCOL Monitor,,,:/usr/local/lib/nocol-client:/usr/local/bin/bash nobody:x:60001:60001:uid no body:/:/usr/local/bin/bash noaccess:x:60002:60002:uid no access:/:/usr/local/bin/bash... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sonicstage
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Sed with sort doesnt work

Sed with sort doesnt work The below code doesnt work: sed -e '/^$/d' -e 's/,/|/g' | sort -t"|" -k1,1 -u file1 when i seperate them it work but i have to create intermediate file which i dont want to: sed -e '/^$/d' -e 's/,/|/g' file1 > file2 sort -t"|" -k1,1 -u file2 Help... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: pinnacle
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

2 problems... sed and sort

Hi everyone! I have a file like that: And I would it like that: I don't know how to keep the first field and sort the second one. I have a second question with sed... to put the variable $VAR at the beginning of the file... But I have an output like this: snork... (3 Replies)