Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting sed insert option(-i) in shell script Post 302328248 by Gee-Money on Wednesday 24th of June 2009 12:05:12 AM
Old 06-24-2009
Insert is not "-i". It's just "i". Do not confuse sed "commands" with command line options. The command line option "-i" means to edit the file in place (dangerous!) in most sed versions that have the -i option, so watch out.

If you google "sed", go to the very first page, and as you will see, it is the #1 sed page on the webs. There is an example for every single sed command, including insert.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Shell Script: want to insert values in database when update script runs

Hi , I am new to linux and also also to shell scripting. I have one shell script which unpacks .tgz file and install software on machine. When this script runs I want to insert id,filename,description(which will be in readme file),log(which will be in log file) and name of unpacked folder... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ring
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Unix Shell Script: With Menu Option

I am attempting to create a shell script with the following capaciblities: 1. Listed options to choice from 2. Use to perform awk statements 3. Print a report with the awk results My questions are 1. How do I select more than one file for option #5 and #6 2. How to I create an... (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: jroberson
11 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

sed/awk script selective insert between lines

Hi I have a file in the foll. format *RECORD* *FIELD NO* ....... ....... *FIELD TX* Data *FIELD AV* Data *FIELD RF* *RECORD* *FIELD NO* ....... ....... *FIELD TX* Data *FIELD RF* (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: dunstonrocks
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

shell script - insert oracle