Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Using * when passing argument to alias Post 302327115 by ramparts on Friday 19th of June 2009 07:19:05 PM
Old 06-19-2009
Thanks! I've never used functions before in UNIX - what would that look like?

---------- Post updated at 06:19 PM ---------- Previous update was at 04:00 PM ----------

Oh, also, I'm using CSH (putting this all in my .cshrc file).... doing some reading it seems like this doesn't support functions? So.... is there any way for me to do what I'm trying to in my .cshrc?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

1 alias 2 commands 1 argument

Hi, i want make 1 alias with two commands include to do two things at the same time like this: ex: do finger and last at the same time with only one word finla or something. Thanks.- /home/seba > finger dustin Login name: dustin In real life: Dustin Feldman Directory:... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: seba
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Passing arguments to an alias

I want to have an alias for the command fold -78 filename | lp How do I set my alias so that the argument passed is filename ?? alias lp='fold -78 | lp' then lp filename wont work cuase this is fold -78 | lp filename (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: pmcg
1 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to create a alias with an argument

If I want to create an alias called "cdr", and this alias need an argument (for example arg1)followed by "cdr", the result should go to the directory like "/home/ting/arg1/report/logs", the command should look like below, alias cdr arg1 "cd /home/ting/\!$1/report/logs" (not working)::( ... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: ting123
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

passing Argument