Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Working with remote Unix files systems from Windows Post 302320923 by vbe on Friday 29th of May 2009 10:13:44 AM
Old 05-29-2009
scp is part of ssh suite (openssh/openssl...) but its only a secure-copy tool...

I dont see other alternatives to samba except some commercial pcnfs or nfsclient for windows... (I still use an old NT4 server for this with Reflection NFS-Gateway product...(ended quite some time ago...))

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Cybersecurity

FTP Automation Windows <> Unix <> Remote

Hi All, I am a newbie to unix and scripting. I need to do the following job: 1. Create a batch file in windows that will call a script in a remote unix box. 2. The script now ftp files from the Remote windows machine and get them back to the local windows. Actually, I have written the script... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Ankur
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Identify a remote machine as windows or unix

Hi, I have a IP address of the target machine.Is there is any way to find out whether it is a unix box or windows box without logging into it?. Regs Anand (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: u449064
5 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Possible to use a Java app with dll files on Unix-systems

Hi... I have build a program for the Velleman K8000 interface card, in java, which works just fine in windows, but now I want to use the program on a Unix-System. Is it possible to somehow convert the dll file to a format that Unix supports, or do I have to find another way? Dll-file:... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Scorp-D
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Copy file from Remote Unix box to windows machine

Hi I need to copy a file from the remote unix server to windows machine. I read lot of thrad but didn't worked out. Requesting all to please help. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sameerspice
2 Replies