Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: find and replace query
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting find and replace query Post 302319907 by lightdensity on Tuesday 26th of May 2009 12:46:22 PM
Old 05-26-2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by devtakh
Code:
sed '/Server=127.0.0.1/{s//Server=0.0.0.0/g}
/ServerPort=0/{s//ServerPort=1/g}
/Enable Server=1/{s//Enable Server=0/g}
' /opt/server.conf > /opt/new_server.conf

-Devaraj Takhellambam
thanks for your response..Actually i am new to shell scripting
Code:
FILE="/opt/server.conf"
NEW_FILE="/opt/new_server.conf"

IFS=""
        for line in `cat ${FILE}`; do
        #echo ${line}
        if [ -n "`echo ${line} | grep 'Server=127.0.0.1'`" ]  #grep command searches for right string
        then
                 echo ${line} | sed 's|Server=127.0.0.1|Server=0.0.0.0|g' >>$NEW_FILE
        elif [ -n "`echo ${line} | grep 'ServerPort=0'`" ]
        then
                echo ${line} | sed 's|ServerPort=0|ServerPort=1|g' >>$NEW_FILE
        elif [ -n "`echo ${line} | grep 'Enable Server=1'`" ]
        then
                echo ${line} | sed 's|Enable Server=1|Enable Server=0|g' >>$NEW_FILE
        else
                echo ${line} >>$NEW_FILE
        fi
        done

So, how to find out which for the right string??

thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

find -perm query

I was going through a find tutorial and just couldn't get it...can someone explain it like he/she would explain a brain damaged dodo? "find allows you to specify a pattern that can be bit-wise ANDed with the permissions of the file. Simply put a minus sign before the octal value. The group write... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: napolayan
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

query about find and -exec