Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers deleting white spaces in a file Post 302319869 by mraghunandanan on Tuesday 26th of May 2009 11:13:52 AM
Old 05-26-2009
deleting white spaces in a file

Hello Guys,

I am a newbie to unix. I am having a requirement. Please help me for finding a solution for this,

I am having a file as mentioned below:

[mraghunandanan@localhost ~]$ cat shank

ackca
acackac akcajc akcjkcja akcj

ckcklc

I want to delete all the white spaces in this file,

I tried using sed 's/^$/d' shank, but it is only deleting the empty lines but it is not deleting the white spaces in the third row.

Really appreciate ur help...

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

deleting white spaces

How would I delete white spaces in a specified file? Also, I'd like to know what command I would use to take something off a regular expression, and put it onto another. ie. . . . expression1 <take_off> . . . expression2 (put here) . . . Any help would be great, thanks! (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: cary530
10 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Deleting end line spaces for along file

How can i clear all space characteres for a long file at the end of each line? (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: osymad
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

csh script for deleting extra spaces in text file

I am new to scripting and I needed to know if there would be an easy way to delete extra spaces in a text file. I have a file with three rows with 22 numbers each, but there is extra spaces between the numbers when it gets output by this program AFNI that I am using. What script would help delete... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: hertingm
2 Replies

4. Solaris

removing special characters, white spaces from a field in a file