Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: awk date and time validation
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting awk date and time validation Post 302319843 by otheus on Tuesday 26th of May 2009 10:30:58 AM
Old 05-26-2009
Dear Tal,

You started out asking one thing. Now you are asking something else... maybe. Please give an example of what you expect to see happen. When you speak of validation, do you mean a date like 30/02 is invalid because February has only 28 (or 29) days?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Time Validation in UNIX?

I am very new to scripting in UNIX and in need of help. I am creating a program that will check a file that has a target time in the form of HH:MM:SS before another program can begin executing. The file with the target time will only have that target time in it and nothing else. Is there any way... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mosammey
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How Can I Do Time Validation in UNIX

I am very new to scripting in UNIX and in need of help. I am creating a program that will check a file that has a target time in the form of HH:MM:SS before another program can begin executing. The file with the target time will only have that target time in it and nothing else. Is there any... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: mosammey
4 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

AWK and sub/gsub: updating a date/time block

I have a file ("modtest") in which I want to update the last date/time block in the lines beginning with a period. Here is a sample: .ROMULT 10150908EDT 10270908EDT 10010908EDT RANGE RAWV2 1.00 .ROMULT 10150908EDT 10270908EDT 10010908EDT FGROUP CHOWANRV 1.00 .RRIMULT 10150908EDT... (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: chrismcg24
10 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk & date time format